Appeal No. 30

Denmark v Israel

Appeals Committee:

Grattan Endicott (Chairman, England), Herman De Wael (Scribe, Belgium), Naki Bruni (Italy), Jean-Paul Meyer (France)

Open Teams Round 27

Board 1. Dealer North. Nobody Vulnerable.
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Contract: Six Spades Doubled, played by North

Result: 11 tricks, NS -100

The Facts: 

Two Spades was weak. There had been a pause of about two minutes before the Double over 4[. The whole table agreed to this. West did not alert his Double, but East did, and explained it as “points”. East then alerted his bid of 4NT and explained it as “Take-Out with Minors”. West did not alert 4NT. West’s Pass over 5[ was alerted and explained as forcing on both sides of the screen.

North/South called the Director at the end of the hand to complain about the bid of 4NT.

The Director: 

Established that there was no disagreement over the pause before the Double, and consulted the Convention Card, which did not contain any useful indication as to the meaning of the Double, except that support doubles are in use, without mentioning until what level they are used.

The Director found that it was normal to play this Double as not being for penalties, and that there had therefore been no useful unauthorized information conveyed in the break of tempo.

Ruling: 

Result Stands

Relevant Laws: 

Law 16A

North/South appealed.

Present: All players and both Captains

The Players: 

North/South started by saying that a pause of this length certainly contains unauthorized information. When the tray comes back quickly, a void in trumps and a side Ace-King make it a good idea to pass for penalties. When it takes a lot longer, it is easy to alert and say it is not for penalties before removing.

North/South then added that when the Convention Card does not support the supposed meaning of a bid, one should believe the player who made it, and who, in this case, had not alerted it.

West explained he had not alerted his Double, because he believed “general values” to be the natural meaning. East/West explained that they would not Double 4[ with four spades, because partner would not leave it in with a void. East would certainly leave a double in with 2 spades, and sometimes with 1.

East/West could not remember having used such doubles before in the tournament.

East/West offered as further evidence that the double had not been for penalties by pointing out that they went to 6] over 5[.

North/South stated that they felt that if a double contains such a difficult meaning, one should not be taking two minutes for it, since that contains too much unauthorized information.

The Committee: 

Found that the Double had certainly been unusual and not for penalties. East had not used unauthorized information when taking the Double out. It was felt however, that in later rounds, East could have realized the kind of difficulties that West had been in before doubling. It was felt therefore that the bid of 6] could had been influenced by the unauthorized information contained in the slow Double.

The Committee felt East/West should not be rewarded for their actions after 5[.

On the other hand, South used poor judgment in not Doubling 6]. South did not at any time enquire about special meanings (4NT could hardly have been Blackwood), and on lead with }AK to cash, surely he should have protected partner from bidding on.

The Committee thought about applying some sort of special score adjustment for North/South, but felt in the end that they had contributed too much to their own result.

The Committee’s decision:

Score adjusted to 

North/South receive:

The table result (NS -100)

East/West receive:

5[= by North (NS +450)

Deposit: Returned

