Appeal No. 6

Netherlands v Switzerland

Appeals Committee:

Jens Auken (Chairman, Denmark), Herman De Wael (Scribe, Belgium), Naki Bruni (Italy), 

Grattan Endicott (England), Steen Møller (Denmark)

Open Teams Round 8

Board 1. Dealer North. Nobody Vulnerable.
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Contract: Five Clubs doubled, played by North

Lead: Jack of Spades

Play: Queen-King of Spades, six of Spades returned, small diamond to West’s King and another spade.

Result: 10 tricks, NS -100

The Facts: 

This was the vu-graph match, open room.

North had asked East about returns. North had written “Q752” and “Q7652” on a piece of paper and East had circled the 5 and 2 respectively. On this basis, North decided to ruff the fourth trick, instead of letting it run to the 8 and discarding a diamond. At the end of the play, North had asked a similar question of West. West circled the fourth highest from original holding. North called the Director. It turned out that East had not understood the question and thought North had been asking about the leads.

The Director: 

Considered that North should have written not only the cards but also his question instead of speaking it.

Ruling: 

Result Stands

Relevant Laws: 

Law 75A, 40C 

North/South appealed.

Present: All players except South, and both Captains

The Players: 

North told the Committee that he had said “If you take and return”. After East had circled the appropriate cards, North had thought for several minutes and then asked the question again to make absolutely sure. East had now replied “same as leads”.

East stated that North had asked “what do you play” but he admitted that North had indeed used the word “return”. East thought the question had been about leads in general, and had answered “same as leads” to indicate that subsequent leads are made in the same way as opening leads.

North believed it was clear that he wanted information about returns in the relevant suit, spades, and not about subsequent leads in other suits. He believed that East should have realized that.

When asked why he had written Q’s on his questions, rather than K’s, as had actually been played, North replied that they were both honours after all. The interesting cards were the small ones and he had been very specific to East about those.

The Committee: 

Considered that North had done a lot to get the information that he wanted. He had used proper English words, and it was East who had misunderstood the word return. It should have been clear to East that North was only interested in the Spade situation. East/West’s actual agreement was as West had explained it after the hand, and corresponded to the real holding. On North’s very careful questions, East should have actively explained their methods to North, in accordance with the principle of full disclosure. East had not done so, and the Committee concluded that North had been misinformed.

The Committee also believed there was resulting damage. However, it was not certain that North would always discard.

The Committee decided that, if North had received the correct answer to the question he had asked, -as his alternative to make the contract by a different play was against the odds- North would discard two times out of three, and subsequently make his contract. The Committee decided to adjust the score on that basis.

The Committee’s decision:

Score adjusted to 

Both sides receive:

66.7% of 5}X making by North (NS +550) plus

33.3% of 5}X-1 by North (NS –100)

Deposit: Returned

